Weight Loss Postpartum

During my pregnancy I purposely tried not to gain too much weight — I didn’t want to have to deal with losing it later! Still after only gaining 30 lbs I still have 10 lbs. to lose 5 months later. If you’re breast feeding it helps you lose weight faster than if you don’t. Some people are lucky and end up losing all their post baby weight within the first 3-4 months just from breast feeding – you need up to 500 extra calories a day.

I haven’t been so lucky and found that I have been even hungrier than when I was pregnant. At just 5 weeks postpartum I tried to go running. Big mistake. I ended up tweaking my ankle and knee. Your ligaments loosen while you’re pregnant (to allow for child birth) and mine hadn’t firmed up yet. In the end I injured my leg and just finished with physical therapy. Don’t rush back into working out! start with walking and slowly work back into your normal exercise routine. It’s also important to note that if you exercise too much you can build up lactic acid in your muscles that can be transfer into your breast milk and cause your baby to reject it. Another reason to take it easier and focus on being healthy and raising a happy loved baby.

The purpose of this post is to tell you not to worry! In time I am told all will go back, or mostly go back, and more importantly if you’re breast feeding you need to eat a healthy balanced diet — not a low fat diet. Babies brains are over 60% fat so eat some good healthy fats and help it develop!

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss Postpartum

  1. So sorry to hear about your ankle/knee injury. I was very eager to loose my baby weight too, as I gained over 50 lbs with my pregnancy. My little guy is almost a year now and I just recently lost the weight. I am actually less than my pre-pregnancy weight. I eat a balanced healthy diet, I am still breastfeeding, and I am continually chasing my son ALL DAY LONG!

    I agree with you that it takes time. If you stay healthy, enjoy your well-prepared food (I mean really enjoy it), and stay active, the weight will come off. If you constantly worry about it or count calories, it may take you so much longer.

    • Wow, less than your pre-pregnancy weight? Nice work! Great inspiration and the perfect attitude. (and awesome job on the breast feeding still at a year!)

Leave a Reply

